Pacific Jeggings

I’m not quite sure how to break this to you guys, so I’m just gonna come right out and say it: I made jeggings. Deep breaths. Those of you firmly planted in the “leggings are not pants” camp are probably yelling at your computers now, but before you delete me from your blog readers in utter disgust, let me assure you that these are lounge pants. As in, I-only-wear-these-out-of-the-house-to-buy-groceries pants. And only-to-be-worn-with-extra-long-tops pants. I promise. Can you forgive me??

As much as these pants might be a giant faux pas, however, I do really like them. In fact, they’re probably the most comfortable pants I own – their only real competition are my yoga pants, which have taken second place in my lounge clothes drawer since these guys came along. The pattern is, once again, the Sewaholic Pacific Leggings. This time I made view A and added some width at the bottom of the legs so that they aren’t skin tight at the ankle. I added 5/8″ at each side seam at the hem, creating a total of 2 1/2 additional inches at the bottom circumference, and tapering to nothing by the knee. I’m definitely happy with this modification for a casual fit – from a distance, they look almost like real jeans, which is what I was hoping for.

The fabric is some wonderfully enigmatic substance purchased at Britex a while back. At first I thought it was a knit that was made to look like denim, but then after I cut it, I noticed that the edges were fraying a bit like woven fabric, so now I’m stumped! My current best guess is that it’s a woven (twill weave) fabric with an extreme amount of spandex, since it stretches like a knit. It’s a bit on the light side for a bottom weight fabric – I wish it were just a tad heavier – but since I’ve limited these to mostly around-the-house use, I think it will be fine.

I also added a triple stitch topstitching detail on either side of each seam. I saw a detail like this on some leggings that one of the ballet teachers I work with was wearing, and immediately knew I wanted to steal it. In fact, those leggings were my inspiration for this garment! That and the fact that I found myself in those yoga pants more often than I’d like to admit…

IMG_3068IMG_3077

And some details of the topstitching:

IMG_3083IMG_3078

I apologize for the awkward bum shot – it was the best pic I could find for the back topstitching!

These pants have gotten worn almost everyday since I made them (always before or after work, of course!), and I’m thinking I may need to make a second pair just to be sure I don’t wear them out too quickly!

So, I’m sorry if I made your eyes bleed with this post, but sometimes comfort wins over socially appropriate clothing…

IMG_3073

11 thoughts on “Pacific Jeggings

  1. I’ve been working from home a lot and it has almost completely transformed my wardrobe. Leggings/jeggings for the win! And I LOVE the fabric – what a great find!

  2. They look great. I’m constantly making loungewear, and discovering there are so many patterns that there must be a secret army of women doing the same.

  3. No bleeding eyes here. Those jegging are perfect and they look great on you. You’re wearing them with a Plantain tee here, non?

  4. Pingback: Me-Made-May: Travel Edition | Dressing the Role

Leave a Reply

