My Favorite Bra (Plus Adventures in Lingerie!)

MY SEWING MACHINES ARRIVED!!! As I’m sure many of you can understand, words cannot express my joy. I may not have a house yet (we are currently crashing with the in-laws), but I have my beloved machines back, so all is well.

Of course, I decided to celebrate their return by embarking on a looooong project, the Grainline Cascade Duffle Coat. So unfortunately you probably won’t see any new makes on the blog for a while. However, I do have another old one to share with you!

Several months ago, when I was still in the midst of my bra-making frenzy, I decided to be practical and make a nude bra that I could wear underneath light-colored tops and dresses. Naturally, this bra quickly rose to the top of my favorites list, since I could wear it with literally anything and not have to worry about a darker lace or mesh showing through. Also, it’s pretty!

IMG_2654

You probably recognize the pattern by now – my bra TNT, the Marborough Bra by Orange Lingerie. The fabric is left over from previous bra projects, and the elastics and findings are from Blackbird Fabrics. The underarm and bottom band elastics are actually a pale mint green – a lovely detail that still remains invisible underneath light-colored tops.

IMG_2663

I fully lined the cups with a light mesh, and stabilized the lace with clear elastic. Speaking of lace – that’s by far my favorite part! This lace is from Britex, a store that I will miss a lot now that I’m no longer on the west coast. I added a nice lace detail to the frame, which I hadn’t done before:

IMG_2657IMG_2656

That little detail really elevates this piece from “merely practical” to “fancy yet functional.” This bra has gotten a LOT of use, needless to say!

I also wanted to note that, in addition to my “Adventures in Sewing” and “Adventures in Knitting” pages at the top of my site, I have added an “Adventures in Lingerie” section, since that seems to be a separate “branch” of sewing from my usual garments. I’m definitely catching the lingerie bug again, and will probably need to make a small herd of bras once my coat is finished to get it out of my system!

5 thoughts on “My Favorite Bra (Plus Adventures in Lingerie!)

  1. Marvellous! I’m still at the stage where I see a bra that someone has made, and it’s like MAGIC. ❤

  2. Oh, just lovely! I’m not yet brave enough to venture into the lingerie-making branch but I love seeing other people’s work. This is simply gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

