The Perfect Summer Dress

There’s nothing quite as wonderful as a great summer dress – something that keeps you both cool and cute during those hot, sweaty days! Even though summer is drawing to a close, I still find myself wearing a fair amount of summery garments (layered with cardigans, etc., for colder weather), and this dress is no exception. It combines pretty much everything I could want in a summer dress – knit fabric, a swishy skirt, and POLKA DOTS! Did I mention polka dots??

IMG_2746

If you haven’t figured it out already, this is the Moneta Dress by Colette Patterns – my current favorite knit dress pattern. I really love the bodice shaping and gathered skirt, as well as the different collar options. It’s difficult to tell in this pic, but I used the Peter Pan collar option for this dress. It’s a little overboard on the cuteness meter, but personally, I love it. The loud polka dots and collar combined kind of remind me of Minnie Mouse. In a good way.

IMG_2750 IMG_2747

In terms of construction, there’s really not a whole lot to say here. I did a slight sway back adjustment, which I may need to augment, judging from these photos (I think the fabric has stretched a bit with wear, as these photos were taken a month or so after I finished the dress). For the collar, I sewed the pieces together on my regular sewing machine instead of the serger so that I could notch the curves and get a cleaner line. I’m really pleased the the result – I would highly recommend sewing all of the collar options on your regular machine for precision, even if you used your serger for the rest.

One last construction note – I always gather my skirt with long basting stitches (the “usual way”) before adding the clear elastic to the waist. I’ve tried the whole elastic ruching thing several times, and not once has it worked for me. My method take a little longer, but I think the results are worth it.

The fabric is a nice rayon knit that I actually got from Sally over at The Quirky Peach when she had her summer stash Instagram sale. I thought that was such a fun way to destash and reach out to the online sewing community simultaneously. And I got a ton of awesome fabric at an amazing price!!

All in all, this is definitely one of my favorite makes so far this year. It does exactly what I want/need it to, and I imagine I’ll probably end up wearing it to pieces in the next year or two. Woot!

IMG_2749

2 thoughts on “The Perfect Summer Dress

  1. I love your new dress. It totally reminds me of Minnie Mouse in a good way. I like the addition of the peter pan collar. I think it would look really cute with a cropped white sweater in the fall or winter with the collar showing.
    I agree about the elastic method in the instructions. I get really uneven results that way.

Leave a Reply

