Watson Take Two: Fancy Pants Edition

Oof, I hinted at a second Watson post over two weeks ago – where has the time gone?? Sorry about that, y’all. I’ve been suffering from loss of blogging mojo and a little dip in sewjo. Excuses, I know :P. I have been working on a bit of secret sewing though, as well as a birthday dress, so there will be fun things to look forward to in the future! For now, though, the rest of my Watson bras (and another bikini!).

First off, I wanted to briefly mention fit. I think I said in my last post that I made a 32A for the bras, but for my latest one (the black and red from the previous post), I actually went a size up to 32B. I need to experiment further, but I think I like the bigger size a bit better. This could just be because I tend to have a rather heavy hand when stretching my elastics, though – time and experience will tell! Also, on the subject of fit, I have now actually worn the panties a few times and am happy to report that they are some of the most comfortable undies I’ve ever worn. Win!

So, now for the rest of my makes. First off, I have another set of bra/undies to show off, this time in purple bamboo! I really love working with bamboo, especially for lingerie. It’s just so buttery and soft, yet keeps it’s shape quite nicely. (And a note on the materials for my previous bras – they were all made with man-made fibers, either polyester or nylon/Lycra. Just FYI) This is probably my favorite pair so far!

I chose to line the cups on this one, which I’m liking more and more. I managed to enclose the cup seam by sandwiching it between the mesh lining and the bamboo fabric. I learned the technique from Maddie in the lingerie video she did for The Sewing Party, but now that the event is over I’m not sure how to reference that method. But it’s a great one! Here are some pics of the innards, though it’s almost impossible to see anything from these pics (apologies!).

And of course, I’ve saved the best for last – my longline lace bra! I’m really quite proud of this one, and feel very fancy wearing it.

 

Isn’t she a beauty?? I used Amy’s tutorial on cutting scalloped lace, and it worked beautiful. The only thing I’m a bit unhappy with is that I pulled the clear elastic too right across the top of the cup, as you can see in the photos, so the lace buckles a bit. Oh well, next time maybe I’ll get it right! Still proud of it, though.

So, those are my bras! I’m taking a pause from bra making while I figure out how to deal with the whole wearing-unpadded-bras-to-work thing. I got some thoughtful responses on my last post about that, saying that in certain work environments it’s really not acceptable. I’m wondering about simply adding some light foam padding – one blogger tried that here. Hmmmm…

Hooray for me-made undies!!

2 thoughts on “Watson Take Two: Fancy Pants Edition

  1. I had difficulty working out how tight to pull the clear elastic across the scallops, too. I think maybe the right answer is not to stretch it at all? Or only a tiny tiny bit.

    I will admit that I find the whole padded vs non-padded bra thing interesting. I haven’t worn padded bras for about 7 years (other than strapless ones) so can only sort of understand people’s misgivings!

  2. Padding in every bra is a comparatively new thing – the majority of bras were not padded 17 years ago (and I remember bra lines being an absolute no-no, which is generally pretty much impossible to fulfill with armored bras, but very possible with lighter bras), and then we’ve gone more industrial-strength nipples-must-always-be-invisible-but-bra-lines-are-fine since then. I prefer something in between – a double-layer cotton bra without foam – but whatever. What’s considered appropriate really does vary by decade, class, and context. I’d expect working in an “art” field and with ballerinas (with, yes, leotard show-through) would mean you could get away with it fine; aside from which, it shouldn’t be too cold indoors. But for bras with a thin shirt worn in public and potentially-drafty places, I might go for thoroughly-lined, or slightly thicker fabric, or possibly a petal stitched on the inside from scuba-fabric scraps?… don’t know. I do think, in general, that articles of clothing that can stand up on their own are generally less comfortable than the alternative, and I personally find that to be the case in the realm of bras as well, but such are the dictates of fashionable norms. Foam is an interesting material in itself, though, too!

Leave a Reply

