Christmas Crafting: The Rest of the Gifts

Do you ever get in a weird sewing funk where nothing feels right, and you end up undoing more than you actually do? Ugh, I am completely bogged down in just such a funk, and I haven’t finished one single sewing project yet this year! Between yesterday and today, I think I unraveled the sweater I’m knitting at least three times, and am having to hold myself back from undoing it a fourth time. Last week, I literally hemmed the same sleeve about half a dozen times before I finally let it go. Seriously, what is going on????

So, good thing I have a ton of back-logged projects to blog about :P. Of course, having utterly lost my sew-jo, I’ve also mostly lost the desire to write about sewing, hence my lack of posts this week. So much for blogging twice a week in 2015! Hopefully it’ll get better…

Anyhow, today I’m just gonna dump the rest of my handmade Christmas gifts on y’all, and hope you’ll forgive me for the information overload. As I mentioned before, I decided to make most of my Christmas gifts this year, since I wanted to save money and I happened to have a lot of time on my hands. I managed to start early enough (before Thanksgiving!) that I actually didn’t get very stressed about it, and really enjoyed the process. So, here it goes!

Tea Wallets

A few years ago, a friend of mine gave me a tea wallet as a gift, and it dawned on me this year that that would be the perfect gift to make, as I have a huge quilting cotton stash and lots of tea-loving friends! I used this tutorial to sew up a whole bunch, and gave them to friends, sisters, and my mom!

2015/01/img_1555.jpg

2015/01/img_1556.jpg

(Recognize the fabric? ;))

Knitted Hats

This was the Christmas of knitted hats. I discovered that they’re the perfect yarn stash buster for all those single balls I had left from various sweater projects, and just went to town! First, I made a baby hat for one of my sisters-in-law, who is expecting her first child soon. I used this pattern, and knitted up the whole thing on Thanksgiving day while visiting family! And yes, I was the gal at Walmart who knitted while waiting in the pre-Black-Friday sales line while the boys shopped for electronics :P.

2015/01/img_1619.jpg

When I was home in November, my sister had strongly suggested that she might like a hat for Christmas, so of course I got right on that! I used this fantastic free pattern to create a fun cabled hat that I thought would match her winter coat nicely. Since she is quite petite, I left off a full pattern repeat in addition to shortening each cable to mine rows instead of ten. It fits her great!

2015/01/img_1624.jpg

I had a hard time figuring out what to give my dad, but I finally settled on a hat for him as well. Since I was in a cabling state of mind, I went with this pattern (also free!), knitted up in a reasonably masculine brown wool/acrylic blend.

2015/01/img_1628.jpg

Lacey Mitts

For my other sister and my mom, I wanted to make them something fun and elegant (initially, I was going to do this for the above mentioned sister, but since she specifically requested a hat, I changed my plans!). I have a thing for fingerless gloves, so when Andi Satterlund’s Piperita pattern came out, I gobbled it right up! I love knitting lace, and they were a very satisfying make.

2015/01/img_1553.jpg

2015/01/img_1552.jpg

Niece/Nephew Sewing

This year, I decided to go all out and make niece and nephew gifts! I inherited several little ‘uns thanks to my husband’s highly productive family, all of which actually live in CA, so I’ve had the chance to get to know them a bit these past few months! For my niece who is seven months old (now more like eight), I made baby leggings. I forgot to get a picture, but they turned out pretty cute, and got a lot of wear over New Years!

For my older niece and nephew, I made raglan tees. This was my first foray into sewing for kids, and it was a blast! I love how I was able to use scraps too small for adult clothes, which just serves to encourage my hoarding tendencies. Oops. 😛 Anyhow, the pattern I used was the Recess Raglan Tee by See Kate Sew. I appreciated the different styling options, and tried to personalize each tee so the kids didn’t feel like they each got the “same thing.” My nephew was wearing his last time I saw them, so I think it was a success!

2015/01/img_1614.jpg

2015/01/img_1615.jpg

Stocking Ornaments

Last one, I promise! While staying with my family over Christmas, I realized I wanted to take some kind of small, token gift to my in-laws when we visited for New Years. They’re not big gift people, but I felt strange at the thought of showing up empty-handed. So a day or two after Christmas, I borrowed my mom’s machine and stole some of her quilting stash to make some crazy quilt ornaments! I just winged the design based on some Pinterest finds – it was super easy! In a nutshell, I strip-pieced several crazy quilt panels, used a template to cut two mirror-image stockings from each, and layered some batting in between. Now I kind of want to get back into quilting….uh-oh!

2015/01/img_1666.jpg

If you made it this far, congratulations! And thanks for reading :). I’m sure I won’t make nearly this much every Christmas, but this year it was fun!

How about you – did you make gifts, or reserve your precious holiday free time for personal projects?

4 thoughts on “Christmas Crafting: The Rest of the Gifts

Leave a Reply

