Audrey in Awesome

This morning I am off to the east coast for some holiday-with-family goodness! Huzzah! I’ve actually got quite a backlog of projects to share at this point, due to poor photography weather and a great deal of travel-induced stress sewing. I’m hoping to get some nice pics when I’m home in PA – my dad is quite an avid photographer and does a great job with his fancy camera! (Hint hint…:) )

Anyhow, my make for today is from several weeks back. It’s the fabulous Audrey in Unst knitting pattern. After seeing fantastic versions by both Tasia and Lauren, I knew I needed to make one. The process took me a while – I started in June and finished knitting it in September, though it took me until November to sew the button bands and buttons on! But I’m quite pleased with the outcome. It has been the perfect weight for our extremely mild fall weather, and I was able to wear it a lot in lieu of a coat.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/780/34706819/files/2014/12/img_1610.jpg

My particular cardigan actually has a rather interesting story. It started life as a different sweater many years ago, which I cast on, knitted a bit, and then put aside. Several months ago I tried revisiting that project, and after looking at my gauge, I realized the yarn was too thick and would result in a sweater that was way too big. Somehow I missed this even though I made a gauge swatch! Ah, well, we all make mistakes :P.

So anyhow, I realized that the yarn would be perfect for the Audrey, and went from there. About halfway through, however, I discovered that I didn’t have enough yarn to finish, and the yarn was no longer being manufactured. Agh! I was resigned to the fact that it might have to have short sleeves instead of 3/4 length, but in a last-ditch effort, I decided to do a little search on Ravelry. Did you know that you can search other people’s yarn stashes and inquire about buying a few skeins? This totally blew my mind, and saved my butt!

I wrote to several folks who had the yarn in the right color in their stash, and Sarah (aka SarahStockinette) replied, saying she would be happy to send me the rest of her skeins for just the price of shipping. How awesome is that?? I’m totally indebted to her kindness, and the dye lots matched perfectly (which was kind of magic, since purple can be a tricky dye!), so I was able to finish the project without a hitch. Just another example of how generous this community can be!

Anyhow, more pics:

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/780/34706819/files/2014/12/img_1611.jpg
Here you can see the “faux side seam,” created by knitting a purl stitch at each side. It helps the sides stay in place while wearing without the hassle of seaming.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/780/34706819/files/2014/12/img_1607.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/780/34706819/files/2014/12/img_1608.jpg
Lace yoke detail – my favorite part of the knitting, since it went super fast!

It’s probably too cold back east to take it with me for the holidays, sadly, but I know it’ll get lots more wear over in SF when I return!

5 thoughts on “Audrey in Awesome

  1. That’s beautiful, and looks so useful! I am very tempted by this pattern but I’ve been put off by the cropped length and the thin yarn. Did you lengthen yours? I guess not if you had yarn shortage issues, but it looks longer than the pattern length.

    • Thanks! I didn’t lengthen mine, and I’ve found it’s not very cropped for a cropped sweater. I’m fairly long waisted, and it falls right at the top of my hip bone. That being said, I think this would be a very easy pattern to length – you could either add more ribbing at the bottom or more length just after the ribbing and before the waist shaping.

Leave a Reply

