Travel Wardrobe, Continued: More Fall Basics

I mentioned in my last post that I was working on a mini travel wardrobe for my visit back east, so I wanted to share the remaining pieces with you today! These two garments are some of my go-to, tried and true patterns: the Sewaholic Renfrew Top and the Hollyburn Skirt. Since I’ve made both several times, I don’t have a ton to say about the patterns, so I’ll just dive right in:

IMG_2303.JPG

IMG_2305.JPG

IMG_2306.JPG

The top is made from a gorgeous Tencel jersey that I picked up from Eddie’s Quilting Bee in Sunnyvale, CA. Ironically, although the main advertised attraction for that shop is the quilting fabrics and supplies, the whole upstairs is fashion fabrics, including and entire wall of amazing Telio knits! And since there were mostly quilters shopping there, I pretty much got that whole upper room to myself.

This was my first time making the 3/4 length sleeves, which, as you can see, turned out more like 1/2 length on my long arms. I think next time I do that sleeve length I’ll add a few inches, as it currently hits at an awkward spot right where my elbow bends and gets scrunched up in the crease. Other than that, I’m quite pleased with this version!

IMG_2310.JPG

This Hollyburn is my third, and certainly not my last! The fabric is a tightly woven polyester, which I chose because it doesn’t wrinkle at all, making it the perfect travel garment fabric. It was a bit strange to sew with, though – the weave was so tight that the fabric has literally NO give, so I ended up having to cut the waistband bigger and sew with 3/8″ seams instead of 5/8″. Also, the seams literally shrank as I sewed them – the center front and center back were a whole inch and quarter shorter than the rest of the skirt! So I let the skirt hang for a day before straightening the hem.

Since I had to chop off so much fabric for the hem, I decided to do a tiny rolled hem to avoid shortening it too much. I like the way that type of adds a little more weight than normal, so I’m actually glad I was forced to choose that option, as I wouldn’t have done it otherwise. It takes longer to sew than a normal hem, but it was definitely the right choice for the fabric.

IMG_2311.JPG

Although my trip is over, I know I will wear both of these pieces for a long time to come! How about you – have you been working on basics this fall, or something more decadent?

IMG_2304.JPG

5 thoughts on “Travel Wardrobe, Continued: More Fall Basics

  1. Those are great staples. They look like they could probably easily mix and match with other clothes in your wardrobe as well. The drape of the skirt is particularly nice. I have made both those patterns a few times now and they always turn out great.

Leave a Reply

