Fall Basics and a Mini Travel Wardrobe

It seems like everyone is going on some exciting trip this fall, and are all making exciting sewing projects to assist in their travels! After reading all about Devon’s fabulous travel wardrobe and Lauren’s awesome travel gear, I got super excited and decided I needed a new mini wardrobe for my fall trip back to Boston and Philly to visit family. Of course, I decided this last week, and right now I’m in the airport waiting for my flight, so that didn’t leave me much time! In spite of my self-imposed time crunch, I did manage to finish three coordinating pieces that are not only fun and practical for travel, but I think will be great fall basics as well.

The three garments I made are: a denim Chardon Skirt, a navy and white polka dot Hollyburn Skirt, and a claret cowl neck Renfrew Top. I’ll be covering these items in separate posts, so today I’ll be starting with the Chardon.

Once upon a time I had an awesome denim skirt in my wardrobe, but due to a rather unfortunate fly front zipper that unnecessarily accentuated my protruding tummy, it never looked right on me. So, I sadly parted with it in my latest clothing purge, which left room for a new denim skirt in my wardrobe! I had a bunch of Robert Kaufman denim in my stash from my summer binge shopping, and had been wanting to make another Chardon for a while, so it was a match made in heaven!

IMG_2280.JPG

IMG_2281.JPG

The construction was pretty straightforward, though I did add a few steps to make things a bit cleaner/easier. I understitched the pockets after attaching them to the skirt to keep them from rolling to the outside of the garment. I also used a lighter weight cotton fabric for my pockets, since the denim is quite thick and too many layers would be problematic.

IMG_1534.JPG

I also swapped out the belt loop pattern piece for the belt loop from the Thread Theory Jedediah Pants. I hated turning the tiny loop pieces to the right side on my previous Chardons, and since I wanted this skirt to have a slightly more “rugged” look, I thought the swap was appropriate. I’m very glad I did – these are definitely my best belt loops yet!

IMG_2289.JPG

Oh, and that invisible zip? It was sewn just minutes after watching Lauren’s zipper class at The Sewing Party! Her class was one of the highlights of that event for me, especially since I’ve been feeling pretty meh about my invisible zips lately. Her method totally saved the day!

And in case you’re curious, the top I’m wearing is another Sewaholic Belcarra Blouse. I had made it over the summer with some lovely J. Crew silk/cotton voile I found at Steve’s Sewing back at home.

IMG_1539.JPG

I never got any pictures I liked of it back when I made it, and was having trouble finding a good bottom to pair it with until my new Chardon came along. I’ll take that as a good sign that it’s already filling some much-needed wardrobe holes!

IMG_2284.JPG

4 thoughts on “Fall Basics and a Mini Travel Wardrobe

  1. Your invisible zipper turned out BEAUTIFUL! I’m so glad you found my class helpful – that makes me so happy! 😀 also, yay for travel capsule wardrobes! Think I’m almost done with mine… Just in time, too, haha!

Leave a Reply

