Made Marion

Hahahaha aren’t I so punny?? Ouch, I know. Sorry ’bout that, y’all…but when you’re writing about Andi Satterlund’s Marion Cardigan Pattern, how can you resist? Anywho, I’ve been following the Marion Knit-Along for the last month, and am quite proud to announce that I managed to finish on time! With a few days to spare, in fact. Take that, productivity!

I’ve actually been wanting to make thing pattern for a while – I love v-necks, cables, and button-down cardigans – so I had purchased the pattern before I even knew about the KAL. However, the knit-along was what finally give me the kick in the bum I needed to get moving. I initially starting knitting it when I was stuck in Sunnyvale with no sewing machine, so knitting was my only outlet for craftiness. As you can imagine, at that point, my knitting was flying along at a rapid pace! However, after the sewing machines moved back in, the project went to the back burner for a while.

It didn’t help that, when I finished the waist decreases and tried it on before starting the ribbing at the bottom, I discovered that I had knit with a ridiculously loose gauge, and the sweater was WAY too big. Hmph. I briefly thought about trying to adapt the pattern to my current gauge, but quickly realized that the resulting cardigan would still be too big and lumpy, so I ripped back all the way to the shoulders. That’s over half the sweater I had to rip out and wind back into neat little balls :P. It was surprisingly therapeutic, though – nothing like being able to legitimately punish your work without ruining it!

Anyhow, I’m very happy that I made that decision, as the final fit is much better. I still think the gauge might be a tad off – I have a feeling the yarn I used isn’t quite hefty enough for the project, as the fabric it created is still pretty loose and the stitches aren’t as even as I would like. I used the recommended yarn – Knit Picks’ worsted Wool of the Andes – but next time I might try something different. We’ll see.

But enough talk! Here it is!

IMG_1483.JPG

IMG_1485.JPG

I’m not 100% sure I made the right size – I can never quite figure out if my sweaters are too big or if they fit correctly. I guess that’s up to personal preference, but I can’t make up my mind! I made a size small, which should give me 2.5″ of negative ease through the bust, but it feels a bit roomy through the underarm/boob area. Hmmmm.

IMG_1486.JPG

As a nice finishing touch, I used Petersham grosgrain ribbon to reinforce the button bands, as Lauren explains in her fab tutorial here. Even though it made the process take longer, I’m quite happy with the result, and am even considering going back to my old cardigans and retro-fitting them with some ribbon :P.

IMG_1490.JPG

The buttons are my first-ever purchase from Britex! I have to admit, it was a little intimidating going into that store, but the gal who helped me at the button desk (SO MANY CHOICES) was very helpful and nice. I was initially thinking of going for a contrast, but I really love these understated buttons I ended up with. They’re the perfect neutral for this sweater.

I’ve already worn the sweater several times, and I’m starting to realize that this is the ideal garment for San Francisco! It’s warm but breezy, so as you heat up from a long stroll commuting to work, it breathes more than a jacket or coat. It’s funny how a different city can affect your fashion choices! Have you ever found that your tastes changed with a change of location?

IMG_1484.JPG

Rawr! Finishing this cardigan got me feeling so feisty about knitting that it actually inspired me to finish another long-awaited project – coming soon!

3 thoughts on “Made Marion

  1. Good job on the cardigan! I know what you mean about sizing – I do all sorts of math to pick a size for me (cause usually I’m messing with gauge by using a different yarn), yet I’m never sure how it will turn out. I think yours looks like a good size for you. I also like the ribbon on the button band – I keep forgetting that I can do that to make button bands look less wobbly.

Leave a Reply

