New City, New Pattern

After weeks of waiting, my machines finally arrived last weekend! It has been a joyous reunion, although the going has been slow, as we are still unpacking the multitude of belongings that showed up on our doorstep last weekend. However, I am happy to get to show off a brand new make, and my first finished project sewn in San Francisco – the Sewaholic Yaletown Blouse!

I knew for a while that I wanted to make this pattern right away after getting my machines back – the loose fit meant that I wouldn’t have to fiddle around with too much fitting, and the elastic waist would be forgiving on my recently expanded waist measurement. I decided to start out with the blouse version as a “wearable muslin” before jumping into a full dress, just in case it needed some adjusting. I didn’t make any fit adjustments this time around, and I think it turned out pretty well!

IMG_1474.JPG

IMG_1473.JPG

(Apologies for the grainy photos – I’m still figuring out where is the best place to take photos in the new apartment.)

The style is a little on the blouse-y side for me, but I still like it. I’ve been really into peplum tops recently, so I was glad to add another to my collection.

IMG_1475.JPG

IMG_1476.JPG

The project came together very quickly – just an afternoon plus a morning! I followed along with Caroline’s sewalong on the Sewaholic blog, which had some nice tips, including a way to make polished, professional looking thread loops. I always love learning new techniques, so I appreciated those details!

The fabric I used was a drapey polyester inherited from my mom. I couldn’t quite get the grain to straighten when I was preparing the fabric (another reason I made a top instead of a dress!), but I don’t think it’s too noticeable. I’m also not 100% in love with this silhouette on me – a little on the muffin-y side, perhaps. What do you think?

But most importantly, I MADE A THING, y’all!! It feels soooo good to finally be sewing again, and I can’t wait to get to work on more projects. I have so many in mind already!

3 thoughts on “New City, New Pattern

  1. You look great! I’m thinking of making a Yaletown soon, so I’m doing my homework and reading all the reviews. I’ve seen nothing but rave reviews for the pattern. And for the record – I don’t see any muffin top!

Leave a Reply

