Alders Away!

So, it turns out it’s reeeaaallly hard to stay motivated about blogging when you’re not actively working on projects…ugh. I did just join the Marion Knit-Along, so at least I’m making things, even if I can’t sew! The good news is that I finally have a date for when I will be reunited with my beloved machines…September 27th :P. So far away!!! But at least I know they’re on their way. I hope I still remember how to sew when they get here…

Anyhow, enough complaining. Today I’ll share with you my version of one of the hot new patterns that’s been trending on the blogosphere, the Alder Shirtdress by Grainline Studio. I have to confess, I was hesitant to purchase this pattern, as I was afraid the lack of a fitted waist would make me look like a sack of potatoes. However, I’d been wanting a good shirtdress pattern for a loooong time, so I decided to give it a try. And I’m so glad I did!

IMG_1468.JPG

As you can see, I made view B, with the adorable gathered skirt. I made up the pattern exactly as-is, no fitting changes or anything. As you can see from the photos, it’s a bit on the short side for my comfort level as a dress (hence the leggings), so next time I plan to lengthen it by 2-3″. Aside from that, I’m quite pleased with the fit. The darts were actually in the right place to begin with, which pretty much never happens for me!

IMG_2147-0.JPG

IMG_2146-0.JPG

This was my first experience sewing a collar with a stand, and I was pretty intimidated, but it turns it it’s not that bad! Jen’s instructions lead you nicely through the process, and the only hiccups in construction occurred when I did dumb things like cut the right and left front pattern pieces the same :P. Heh, won’t make that mistake again…

Aside from a little button gaping at the bust (which I think was due to buttonhole placement), I’m very happy with the result! I really regret not taking it with me to San Francisco (it’s waiting with my sewing machines back on the east coast) – it’s the perfect style for this city. Also, since it turns out that San Francisco is the land of amazingly delicious food EVERYWHERE, I could use the loose-fitting waist; my other skirts are getting veeeery tight! Sigh.

IMG_2149.JPG

IMG_2148-0.JPG

Speaking of expanding waists, I’ve decided to try to add more fitness to my life now that we’re (hopefully!) going to stay in one place for a while. In Boston, I found that it was easy for life to get out of balance, and I figured that the best time to try to restore balance is after a big change. So, I have several goals for my life here on the west coast. I want to establish a regular exercise program, cook more, and sing more. So, yes, this will probably mean a little less sewing, but I think that maintaining a healthier balance of activities will ultimately lead to greater contentment. Here’s to a fresh start!

Leave a Reply

