Trials and Tutorials

Greetings from the lovely state of California! It still hasn’t sunk in that I’m actually going to be living here – at this point it feels more like a vacation than a relocation, but I’m sure I’ll get used to it! I’m still shocked every time I look out the window and see palm trees instead of maples. Life will be different on the west coast!

And in case you were wondering, I haven’t wasted any time exploring the fabric scene ’round these parts! I already made one brief pilgrimage to the legendary Britex Fabrics in San Francisco, and was absolutely bowled over by their selection of quality fabrics and notions. I was also lucky enough to go bargain hunting with the lovely and talented Ping while she was visiting her old stomping grounds. Can’t wait to start sewing my new finds!

But wait I must – since my husband and I are still searching for an apartment, I am sadly parted from my beloved sewing machines. I won’t be reunited with my partners in crime until we find our new nesting spot (hence the “trials” portion of this post). However, in the meantime, you can head on over to the Thread Theory blog to take a look at one of my tutorials! I wrote a tutorial on constructing a fabric covered elastic waistband for Morgan’s tutorial contest, and was thrilled to be selected as one of the winners.

IMG_0736.JPG

I also managed to get pictures of several back-logged projects before the move, so the blogging will continue. I even managed to get a few shots at some lovely Boston landmarks, so stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

