100 Happy Posts: Farewell to Boston

This is my 100th post, y’all! I’m kind of shocked that I’ve already posted that much (though the first dozen or so posts were back when this was a fashion blog). I wanted to make this an important post, and managed to procrastinate for so long that this can now be my official farewell to Boston. Not really happy, but I couldn’t resist the opportunity to spoof that particular internet phenomenon :P.

So, today is my last day in Boston. It’s crazy to think back on the person I was before coming here compared to the person I am now. That difference became especially clear when I played the summer intensive program at the ballet school this summer. Whereas last year I felt like a deer in the headlights a lot of the time, this year I loved every moment, and had a ton of fun working with advanced students and incredible teachers. Instead of being intimidated, I was inspired by all of the talent around me, and was reminded of why I wanted to be a ballet accompanist in the first place.

There were many highlights to that program, including the opportunity to play for masterclasses held by Boston Ballet superstars Jeffrey and Lia Cirio – two astonishingly gifted principal dancers who are also fantastic teachers and just all-around great people. Those five weeks really flew by!

And, of course, I also have to say goodbye to a place that has become very dear to me – none other than Grey’s Fabric! This dynamite place really became my home this summer as I was finally able to attend their fabulous Crafty Foxes Sewing Club during the summer months. I had such a blast meeting and getting to know my fellow seamstresses, and was so thrilled to have “instant friends” through the sewing community. One of the first things I want to do in San Francisco is find another sewing group! (Any suggestions…?)

It turns out that this summer is actually the mass migration of the Crafty Foxes – Sarah Grey, the classy proprietress and Tall Sarah are both heading out to new frontiers as well. Which, of course, was good cause for a party! There was fun, frolicking, and surprisingly strong cocktails, and good times were had by all.

IMG_1429.JPG
Tall Sarah and I showing off our Tap Shorts

IMG_1427.JPG

IMG_1431.JPG

Goodbye, Boston! It’s been a crazy, amazing, jam-packed year. Let the new adventures begin!

2 thoughts on “100 Happy Posts: Farewell to Boston

Leave a Reply

