Crazy for Coco!

As you many know from a previous post, I was the lucky winner of Tilly’s new Coco pattern from Ginger’s Sew Grateful giveaway! I loved the pattern as soon as it came out, and was thrilled to get my own copy so quickly. So of course I had to sew one up ASAP!

I was so excited after winning the pattern that I immediately went to Grey’s Fabric to pick up some awesome fabric (before this past Wednesday, of course!). The pattern calls for stable knits without much stretch, which was a nice contrast from the super slinky knits I’ve been working with recently. I found an amazingly drapey double knit in two great colors, navy and orange, so I decided to take the opportunity to do some contrasting colorblocking. I chose the 3/4 sleeve option so that I could do a contrasting cuff, and I also chopped 4″ off the bottom of the pattern and turned it into a contrasting hem panel. I’m super pleased with the result!

20140307-204345.jpg

In case you’re wondering, the orange flower is from a Princeton University alumni reunion; I didn’t make one especially for this outfit :P. Though it does match quite nicely! I ended up making a size 2 through the bust and grading out to a size 3 from the waist to the hem. I had been afraid that the sheath dress style would be unflattering, but I’m actually quite pleased with the fit! It’s a very simple pattern with classic design lines, so I imagine it probably works for most folks.

20140307-204655.jpg

After reading through Tilly’s awesomely thorough sewalong, I decided to make the dress entirely with my machine even though I have a serger. The fabric is very strong – tough fibers and a tight knit – so I was afraid it might “fight back” with the serger blade. My machine handled it quite nicely, though, so I’m glad I made that choice! I finished my hems with a double needle instead of a zig-zag, but aside from that I pretty much followed her directions. They are very beginner-friendly, so this is the perfect opportunity if you’re new to knits!

20140307-205141.jpg

Speaking of being new to knits, have y’all seen Sarai’s post about a new book on sewing with knits? I’m super excited!!

Anywho, thank you so much, Ginger, for this awesome pattern – I am truly *sew* grateful!

20140307-205358.jpg

18 thoughts on “Crazy for Coco!

  1. Pingback: A Year in Review: Hits and Misses | Dressing the Role

Leave a Reply

