Man Sewing!

This week I decided to try something a little different – sewing for the husband! Believe it or not, he actually helps me a ton with my sewing – he has a fantastic eye for color and fit, and I usually end up bugging him a lot for advice! In fact, just this morning during our subway commute he was helping me figure out good color combos for a future project I’m planning. That must’ve been an interesting conversation for eavesdroppers…

So anyhow, I figured the least I could do in return is sew him something! Also, it has been his lifelong quest to find pants that fit him well. When he was younger (teen through college years), he was a very serious fencer, so his thigh muscles are HUGE compared to most guys’. He also has a pretty slim figure, which means that for pants to be big enough to fit his thighs, they end up being gigantic at his waist (and pretty much everywhere else!). So I’ve taken it on as my personal challenge to make him pants that fit.

Needless to say, I was incredibly excited when I found out that my local fabric store, Grey’s Fabric and Notions started carrying the Jedediah Pants pattern by Thread Theory! I loved all the made-up versions I saw floating around on the internet – the pattern includes lots of details that create an incredibly professional finished product. I was a little intimidated by all the construction elements, but thanks to the Jedediah Shorts Sew-Along it was actually pretty breezy! The fly zipper gave me a little trouble, but that’s because I missed an important detail that was mentioned near the beginning of the process…oops :P. But it was a great learning experience, and now I know how to sew a fly zipper!

Here are a few detail pics – the details are really what makes this pattern special. And they also made it super fun to sew!

20140210-131344.jpg

20140210-131359.jpg

20140210-131412.jpg

20140210-131432.jpg

20140210-131441.jpg

As you can see, I used a lot of bartacks in the construction – I really wanted these to be sturdy, since I hope they will be worn a lot!

They ended up being a little too close-fitting through the leg, which was ok for this pair, since the fabric has a little Lycra, but in future pairs I will definitely widen the legs. However, the rest fits great!

20140210-131647.jpg

[my husband asked that I not include his face in these pics – gotta protect the innocent!]

I hope he likes these, because I really want to sew more! I highly recommend the pattern, and can’t wait to try more from them!

One thought on “Man Sewing!

  1. This is impressive on so many levels. The quality of your workmanship is superb; the fit is excellent; and your attention to detail is truly remarkable. I would say it looks like ready-to-wear except that I would mean that as a real compliment!

Leave a Reply

