Leftovers

Ok, this time I’m actually not referring to turkey, but rather to leftover materials! While rummaging through my yarn stash a week or so ago, I discovered several lovely skeins of a wool/alpaca/silk blend that remained after a cable sweater project from several years back, so I decided to see if I could manage to make a garment out of it. I had just over 400 yards of worsted weight yarn, so not enough for a sweater, but I thought maybe I might be able to squeeze a vest out of it. I started knitting the day before Thanksgiving (since I couldn’t really bring my sewing machine to my in-laws!), and here’s the result:

20131205-154147.jpg

Vest: handmade “Impression Vest” by Meghan Jones, Top and Pants: Banana Republic, Boots: Clark’s

20131205-154333.jpg

Apologies for the especially poor photo quality…it’s a super rainy/grey day, and my husband did his best, but this was all the ol’ ipad could manage…

The pattern is from the fall issue of Knitscene, which my mom had actually sent to me a few weeks ago. The vest was a part of a series using “fake” cables; the ribbing looks like it was made using a cable needle, but it actually wasn’t! It’s a nice pattern for those not wanting to hassle of working with a cable needle. I has been wanting a vest anyway (I didn’t own any before), so this was a fun – and free – solution!

Leave a Reply

