Flannel to the Rescue!

It just keeps getting colder here in Boston!! So this week, instead of sewing more knit-fabric garments, I finally came to terms with the dropping temperature and decided to sew a flannel skirt. I made another Chardon Skirt with one of the beautiful cotton flannels that recently found its way onto the shelves of Grey’s Fabric and Notions. I have to confess, as much fun as I’ve been having sewing with knits, it was a nice change to sew with a heftier, more stable fabric that doesn’t change shape on you every few seconds!

The finished product is nice and warm, and was also super quick! I didn’t line this one, so it only took me one cutting session and two sewing sessions to complete (to compare, my first Chardon took me almost a month!). Oh, and did I mention it has *pockets*? Here it is in today’s outfit:

20131109-125223.jpg

Top: Banana Republic, Jacket: Anthropologie, Skirt: handmade “Chardon Skirt” by Deer and Doe, Leggings: Banana Republic, Boots: Clark’s

And without the jacket, so you can see the pleating and belt loops:

20131109-125405.jpg

And lastly, at only $10 a yard, this skirt cost me under $30 – compare with this similar skirt from a high-end retailer that’s over $100. I’ll take that!

Leave a Reply

