Winter is Coming!

Sorry, I couldn’t resist a little Game of Thrones reference, since today’s post is about preparing for the cold. One thing I realized when I moved to Boston was that I really needed to find a proper scarf! Since I’m a knitter, though, I felt guilty just buying one when I could make it, which inspired my latest knitting creations – two cowl-neck “scarves”. I chose cowl necks because they will keep my neck and chest warm without adding extra bulk under a jacket or coat. Also, my mom got me the patterns as a gift, so I had to try them out! Here they are:

20131108-131152.jpg

Pattern: Shawl Collared Cowl by Alana Dakos, Yarn: “Homespun” by Lion Brand (color is “Edwardian”), Buttons: from Bead + Fiber, my local yarn and bead shop

20131108-131651.jpg

Pattern: Zuzu’s Petals by Carina Spencer, Yarn: merino wool from Dirty Water Dye Works, a local yarn maker, also purchased at Bead + Fiber

I love both of them, and usually end up wearing one of them pretty much every day. In fact, yesterday was warm enough that I just wore the cowl without a coat!

20131108-132051.jpg

I know that colder days are coming, but I think I’m ready!

Leave a Reply

