Santa Fe Adventures

Before you ask, no, I didn’t go to Santa Fe, nor do I have any plans to in the near future. However, I did spend my weekend making this awesome Santa Fe Dress from Nancy Zieman’s new knits series, and so far I’m loving the result! Here it is in today’s outfit:

20131106-095316.jpg

Dress: handmade “Santa Fe Dress” by Nancy Zieman, Cardigan: LOFT, Belt: Banana Republic, Leggings: Banana Republic, Boots: Clark’s

The dress took me one evening to cut out and one afternoon to sew – not bad! It’s made from a soft, drapey bamboo/Lycra blend, which was a pain to work with (hence one whole evening just to cut it out!), but wonderful to wear. The pattern ended up being a little too full in the back for my taste – some sewers had commented that the dress tends to fit like a nightgown – so I added ties to the back. I didn’t want to remove any of the fullness through darts or a back seam because I knew I needed the extra fabric to cover my shapely bum, so I think the ties are a nice solution for me. Folks without my tummy/bum shaping might find other solutions are better for them.

20131106-095406.jpg

The detail that attracted me most to this dress was the folding in the top. It was really fun to sew, and it looks like something you’d buy from a trendy retail store. Win win!

20131106-095439.jpg

One last comment about the dress – it cost me $38 to make. $35 for the fabric, $3 for thread. That might not seem super cheap to you, but 30 seconds of online research showed me that bamboo dresses tend to run about $80-$120 retail. So not bad after all!

Leave a Reply

