Field Research

As I mentioned in my last post, I’ve been indulging in online fabric purchases. My second package, this time from Casual Elegance, arrived in the mail yesterday. I got two pieces – a gray rayon/spandex blend that I will make into a dress, and this little number:

20131030-145700.jpg

I had anticipated that this would be a thicker knit with a fair amount of body. Turns out I was wrong. It’s actually a wispy, thin rayon with a lot of drape and very little structure. I had been hoping to make another Renfrew top with a v-neck lickety-split, since I’ve been cranking them out lately, but this thin drapey fabric is throwing me for a loop. I mean, what season is it even for? Spring? Summer? Fall? Agh.

So, I decided to spend my work break today in town doing “field research” on Newbury Street (a.k.a. chic shopping heaven). In preparation for this trip, I wore one of my completed Renfrews so that I could covertly compare pattern designs in the dressing room. Ha! Sewing espionage!

20131030-150203.jpg

Top: handmade “Renfrew” pattern by Sewaholic , Cardigan: LOFT, Pants: LOFT, Belt: Banana Republic, Shoes: Clark’s, Scarf: gift from a friend

It turns out that there are a lot of light, gauzy tops out there this fall, thankfully! I found the most promising specimens at the LOFT. I have a feeling I will make another Renfrew with the fabric, but add fullness to the side seams and a bit more length so that it fits more like a tunic top. What do you think? Any other suggestions for this fabric?

One thought on “Field Research

  1. How about something like Hot Patterns 1121 Riviera Cote D’Azur knit top? The pattern can also be made as a dress or tunic. It says “Super-simple cool-girl style with these great knit pieces, designed for light or medium weight drape-y knits…think bamboo, rayon, modal, tencel, viscose, burn-out knits, or even a silk jersey.” Take a look at the Hot Patterns website. You could wear it in colder weather with a cardigan or jacket.

Leave a Reply

