Runs in the family…

Top: Ann Taylor, Skirt: hand-made by my mommy, Shoes: Clarks, Necklace: Family heirloom (I think…)

As I mentioned in my previous post, I have a few crafty tendencies when it comes to garment-making. Most of my crafting skills, however, were handed down to me from my mother, who is brings garment-making craftiness to a whole new level! She made the lovely white eyelet skirt in today’s outfit, and it’s one of my all-time favorite wardrobe pieces.

The necklace is also a family artifact – I’m pretty sure it once belonged to my grandmother. So this outfit unintentionally turned into a family tribute piece. I was hoping  the necklace would tie together the different vibrant colors from my top, shoes, and emerald-green toenails. Judging from the comments I received today, I think it was a success!

Do you have any favorite family heirlooms in your closet?

Leave a Reply

