Dressing for the Job

Top: Banana Republic, Pants: Ann Taylor Loft, Blazer: Ann Taylor, Shoes: Clarks, Necklace: gift from a friend

On Sundays, I always have to wear pants. The reason is simple: I’m a church organist, and you just can’t see those pedals in a voluptuous skirt (and if the skirt is too short, your legs stick to the bench. Awkward.). If it were up to me, I’d always be wearing skirts or dresses, but unfortunately someone designed an instrument that requires a certain dress code. So I must comply.

I added a necklace the mix, as you can see, in an attempt to mix things up jewelry-wise; I usually just stick with a pair of nice earrings. I have trouble with accessories – I have the tendency to either over-do or under-do. What are your opinions on accessories? How do you avoid either of those extremes?

2 thoughts on “Dressing for the Job

  1. -m curious if there were female church organists before the 1950’s? I knew several women growing up who played an organ in a skirt.

    • Daniel, yup, it’s definitely possible to play the organ in a skirt…I’m just not that skilled yet :). In terms of your historical question, I’m sure there were female organists before the 1950’s, though probably not as prevalent as today. Even now, church organist is often considered a “man’s job” (similar to conducting and composition), especially at bigger churches. There were certainly women playing smaller, more portable organ-like instruments since at least the 19th century (I’m thinking of a character from a Thomas Hardy novel right now…).

Leave a Reply

